Corporate Governance

Board of Directors

Mr Gautam Adani, the Chairman and Founder of the Adani Group, has more than 33 years of business experience. Under his leadership, Adani Group has emerged as a global integrated infrastructure player with interest across Resources, Logistics and Energy verticals.

Mr Adani’s success story is extraordinary in many ways. His journey has been marked by his ambitious and entrepreneurial vision, coupled with great vigour and hard work. This has not only enabled the Group to achieve numerous milestones but also resulted in creation of a robust business model which is contributing towards building sound infrastructure in India.

Mr Rajesh Adani has been associated with Adani Group since its inception. He is in charge of the operations of the Group and has been responsible for developing its business relationships. His proactive, personalized approach to the business and competitive spirit has helped towards the growth of the Group and its various businesses.

Mr. Pranav Adani has been active in the group since 1999. He has been instrumental in initiating & building numerous new business opportunities across multiple sectors. He has spearheaded the Joint Venture with the Wilmar Group of Singapore and transformed it from a single refinery edible oil business into a pan India Food Company. He also leads the Oil & Gas, City Gas Distribution & Agri Infrastructure businesses of the Group. His astute understanding of the economic environment has helped the group in scaling up the businesses multi fold.

Mr. Pranav Adani is a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from the Boston University, USA. He is also an alumnus of the Owners/President Management Program of the Harvard Business School, USA.

Mr. Pranav Adani has been conferred with several awards, Globoil Man of the Year Award 2009 being   one of them.

A mechanical engineer with MBA (finance), Mr. Vinay Prakash has rich and diversified experience of over 25 years, spanning across the integrated coal management, Mining, Shipping & Logistics, Port & Power. He has been instrumental in nurturing our Integrated Coal Management & Mining business since their inception and achieving multifold growth subsequently.

Due to his focus and zeal of organizational building, the India mining business has been rated under the top 10 “Great Places to Work in India” last year and has also won several awards at various forums for its commitment towards Environment, Community Engagement, Sustainability, Safety and CSR.

That apart, Mr. Prakash also holds key positions in various professional bodies such as Chairman of ASSOCHAM’s National Council on coal, Member of India - Indonesia CEOs Forum, Chairman of the Standing Committee on Coal & Industry in FIMI. Further, he has been conferred with many awards and accolades at different global platforms including the Global Business Excellence Award in coal sector at World Petrocoal Congress 2017.

Prior to joining our Group in 2001, he was working with the Aditya Birla group in various roles.

Mr. Hemant M. Nerurkar was Executive Director of India and South-East Asia of Tata Steel Limited since April 9, 2009 and was appointed as Managing Director of Tata Steel Limited from October 1, 2009. A B.Tech in metallurgical engineering from the College of Engineering, Pune University, Mr. Nerurkar has attended several management courses in India and overseas, including CEDEP in France. He is associated with several professional organisations, such as Indian Institute of Metals, INSDAG and AIMA, amongst others. Mr. Nerurkar joined Tata Steel on February 1, 1982 and has held various positions including Chief Metallurgist, Senior Divisional Manager (LD-1), Deputy General Manager (Steel & Primary Mills), General Manager (Marketing), Senior General Manager (Supply Chain) and Chief Operating Officer. He has over 35 years of experience in steel industry in various functions. Mr. Nerurkar is an executive with multifaceted experience ranging from Project Execution, Manufacturing, Quality Control, Supply Chain and Marketing. He became the Vice President (Flat Products) in November 2002 and in September 2007 was appointed Chief Operating Officer. During his illustrious career, Mr. Nerurkar has been conferred with several prestigious awards such as the ‘Tata Gold Medal 2004’, ‘SMS Demag Excellence Award 2002’, 'Steel 80’s Award - 1990’, ‘SAIL Gold Medal - 1989’, 'Visveswaraya Award - 1988’ and ‘NMD Award 1987’.

V. Subramanian joined the Indian Administrative Service in 1971 (West Bengal Cadre). He occupied many senior positions in the Government of India and the Government of West Bengal during a career of 37 years. Most recently Mr. Subramanian was the Secretary to the Government of India with the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) where he pioneered important initiatives for reforms and development of the renewable energy sector, including the introduction of the “Feed-in Tariff” concept. As Additional Secretary & later Financial Adviser, Ministry of Rural Development, he implemented National Rural Development plans including the National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme. Presently, he is a freelance consultant. He is also the Business Development Adviser to the Council for Industrial and Scientific Research at New Delhi, the Secretary General of the Indian Wind Energy Association, and Chairman of the Research Council of Indian Institute Of Petroleum, in an honorary capacity.

Mrs. Vijaylaxmi Joshi is a 1980 batch IAS officer of the Gujarat cadre. She had served in various posts in the State and in the Centre. She had been Joint and Additional secretary in the Commerce Ministry between 2011 to 2014. Thereafter, she took over as Secretary, Ministry of Panchayati Raj on May 1, 2014. She had also been appointed as Officer on Special Duty in the Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation. Lastly, she was head of the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan, the Clean India programme. 

Under State level, she has also been deputed as Managing Director of Government Companies such as Gujarat Mineral Development Corporation Ltd.

Mr. Narendra Mairpady is an eminent banking professional having more than 40 years of wide experience and exposure. He is a commerce graduate with Bachelor of Law Degree (University III Rank in both) and is a Certified Member of the Indian Institute of Bankers (CAIIB). He started his career as officer trainee with Corporation Bank. Later, he was appointed as Chairman and Managing Director of Indian Overseas Bank in 2010 and retired as CMD in 2014. During his long sting career with Banking Sector, he has ensured to achieve all critical parameters like Team Building, Brand Enhancement, Priority Sector Initiatives, Branch Expansions, new initiatives for effective Risk Management etc in Banking arena.


Mr. Narendra has at his credit, some of the prestigious awards in the field of banking industry, for his excellence in outstanding performances and exceptional contribution to Indian Banking sector. He has held membership in RBI’s Technical Advisory Committee on Money, Forex and Government Securities Markets. He also held various esteemed councils and committees with Indian Bank’s Association (IBA). He is currently also the chairman of ASSOCHAM National Council for Banking & Finance


Our Associate Companies
Detail of KMPs for determining materiality of events or information
© 2018 Adani Group